Posted by: Sara Shipley Hiles | July 24, 2009

The Drive Less Challenge this week: Bike as SUV?

Last Saturday, I took my son Alex to our wonderful farmer’s market using our bike and trailer.

The trailer has enough storage space in its rear pocket to turn my bike into a virtual SUV on two wheels. Get a load of all the stuff I was able to haul home:

  • Six ears of corn
  • One dozen eggs
  • Three tomatoes
  • Three peppers
  • Five squashes
  • Half a pound of cheese
  • Two cookies
  • A pound of coffee
  • Two pints of blackberries
  • A peck of peaches
  • One watermelon
  • AND a 25-pound baby boy!

Surprisingly, the trailer pulls like a dream. I didn’t even notice the extra weight. But I did get a good workout.

I’ve been able to do more and more errands by bike now that my wheels are outfitted for cargo. My bike has collapsible rear baskets that fold up when not in use. My bike trailer is made by Wike, a small team of folks in Canada. The company builds trailers to haul golf clubs, canoes, surf boards, cargo, even pets – so there’s no excuse to have to drive!

So, here’s the drive-less challenge for the week: Can you run ONE errand this week without using your car? Maybe go to the grocery store, the library, the hardware store? Or maybe walk or bike to the park or the gym?

Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Responses

  1. So Awesome. If only every Mom and Dad in America did this more often. Bravo, Sara.

    • Thanks! I really enjoy it, and so does my son! (He often falls asleep in the bike trailer. : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

