Posted by: Sara Shipley Hiles | July 13, 2009

Monday Drive-Less Challenge

I’ve decided to challenge myself and my friends to drive less one day a week.

I posted the challenge on Twitter:

“Can you park your car and ride your bike, carpool, take transit, or walk one day a week? I did!”

Today, I took my son Alex to day care using my bike with the bike trailer attached, then ran two errands before heading home. Total mileage: 8. Calories used: Let’s guesstimate 300. (Maybe enough to make up for the peach cobbler I ate last night?) Gasoline used: none. Knowing I created zero emissions and got my exercise for the day: Priceless!

According to the federal government’s Fuel Economy Web site, each gallon of gasoline you burn creates 20 pounds of CO2. Vehicles account for 51 percent of the typical household’s CO2 emissions.

Household CO2 Sources

I will repeat this challenge at least once a week. Care to join me?

Leave a Reply

Categories

